City of Split metropolitan area

The Living Lab

The Split-Dalmatian County (SDC) is one of 21 Croatian counties (of which six belong to the Adriatic region, situated in the middle part of the Adriatic coast).

SDC has a land surface of 4,540 km2 and 454,798 inhabitants (11% of Croatian population), who live in 16 towns and 39 municipalities. The population density in the SDC is 101 inhabitants per km2. Its biggest city and administrative centre is Split (with approximately 190,000 inhabitants living in the city itself, and more than 300,000 in its metropolitan area). In 2017 Split realized ca. 2.1 million tourist overnights (almost 13% of the Croatian total). The SDC consists of three micro regions: Islands, the Coastal Strip and the Hinterland. The coastal strip is a relatively narrow but very long strip between the sea and the mountains and, together with the islands, is subject to intense, seasonally oriented tourism development. The Hinterland is the largest micro-region in terms of surface (60% of total) but also the least populated (23%). It is located between the coastal strip and the border with Bosnia and Hercegovina. In terms of tourist arrivals and overnights it is less well developed (in 2017, 2.7% of the County’s overall arrivals and 1.3% of overnights).